FOSL logo  
Welcome About Programme Join Contact
 

Programme 2019

Refreshments in Church

Wine bar open 30 minutes before concerts and during any intervals. Light lunches available in church after lunchtime concerts indicated by [L].

Car Parking

If using satnav to reach the church or car park, use postcode: CT21 5DN. A church car park with limited space is located to the east of the building.

Tickets

Discounted prices for Friends of St Leonard’s Church shown [£* ]. Join here.

Tickets available from Brandon’s Music Shop, 55 High Street, Hythe CT21 5AD (01303 264429) and at church door prior to each concert.

Free admission to those under 18 in full-time education.

Programme

Date & time

Special prices

Performers

Programme

Buy tickets

Saturday 2 March 4.30pm Retiring collection Silver Arch Gospel Choir & SaltDish Ukulele Group    
Saturday 13 April 7.30pm £12 [£10] Louise Cournarie Piano French Baroque keyboard music. Book now 
Friday 19 April (Good Friday) 6.30pm Retiring collection Good Friday Devotions: prayers, readings and music, with Shepway Singers Duruflé and Bruckner Motets
7.30pm Duruflé Requiem
 
Thursday 2 May 7.30pm £12 [£10] Rod Clements & Rab Noakes – Alive ’n’ Pickin’
Guitarists & Singer-Songwriters, plus guests
  Buy Tickets on-line*
Saturday 11 May 7.30pm £12 [£10] David Flood Organ
Canterbury Cathedral Organist
   
Wednesday 15 May 12 noon [L] £7 [£6] Adrian Oldland Piano Schumann & Chopin Book now
Thursday 30 May 12 noon [L]  £7 [£6] Marina Karagianni Soprano Panaretos Kyriatzidis Piano Baroque Italian arias by Scarlatti, Handel, Vivaldi, Carissimi, Book now
Saturday 8 June 7.30pm £21 & £15 Primavera Chamber Ensemble Mozart, Beethoven, Schumann Piano Quartets Buy Tickets on-line*
Sunday 23 June 3.00pm  £12 [£10] The Eclectics Community Choir     
Thursday 27 June 7.00pm £5 Children from Hythe Bay C of E Primary School and St Leonard's Church Choirs, professional principals, Amberley Players, community recorders, handbells and bugles. Benjamin Britten Noye’s Fludde  
Friday 28 June 7.00pm £5 As above Benjamin Britten Noye’s Fludde  
JAM on the Marsh Festival
Saturday 6 July 10.30am Free ‘Come and play’ with Michael Bawtree    
Sunday 7 July 2.30pm £15 [£13] The Grier Duo (Cello and Piano) Beethoven, Shostakovich, Brahms  Cello sonatas Buy Tickets on-line**
Monday 8 July 7.30pm £12 [£10] Ashford Youth Jazz Orchestra     
Thursday 11 July 7.00pm £18 The Chapel Choir of Selwyn College, Cambridge
Canterbury Cathedral Girls’ Choir
Palmarsh and Hythe Bay CofE Primary Schools
Onyx Brass,
Simon Hogan Organ
Claire Seaton Soprano,
Edward Grint Bass
Michael Bawtree, David Newsholme & Sarah MacDonald Conductors
Daniel Saleeb Festival Commission & Mendelssohn, Stanford, Copland, Barber, Parry, Mealor Buy Tickets on-line
Saturday 20  July 7.30pm        £12 [£10]  James Short Organ             Organ Scholar, Exeter College, University of Oxford   Book now 
Wednesday 31 July 12 noon [L] £7 [£6] Darragh Morgan Violin,
Mary Dullea Piano
Janáček, Moeran Violin Sonatas Book now 
Wednesday 7 August 3.00pm Donations ‘Journeys’: Poetry readings, followed by tea and cakes    
Saturday 24 August 7.30pm £12 [£10] Narropera:
Dorothee Jansen Soprano
Floriane Peycelon Violin
Haydn Rawstron Piano and Narrator
 Mozart Le Nozze di Figaro (The Marriage of Figaro) Book now
Saturday 14 September 6.00pm £12 [£10] Preston Ensemble Corelli Concerto Grosso No 2 in F Mendelssohn Octet in E flat major, Op 20   Book now
Saturday 21 September 7.30pm  £12 [£10] Classical Folk:
Sylvia Akagi Voice & Flute, Andrew Wickens Violin, Peter Golden Guitar
Light classical music and song plus virtuoso violin, (including Saint-Saëns The Swan) Book now 
Saturday 5 October 7.00pm  £12 [£10] Canterbury Cathedral Choristers conducted by Dr David Flood   Book now 
Sunday 20 October 3.00pm £15 [£12]  Festival Chamber Orchestra
‘Autumn Colours’ with Ian Crowther Oboe
McGlynn Aisling for oboe and strings
Ridout Concertino for oboe
Suk Meditation on an old Czech chorale
Bach BWV12 for oboe and strings
Suk Serenade for strings in E flat major, Op 6
 
Saturday 2 November 7.30pm  £12 [£10]  Shepway Singers Bernstein Chichester Psalms & Shearing, Billings, Brubeck, Copland Book now 
Saturday 7 December 7.00pm [tba]   Hythe Festival concert  
Friday 13 December 2.30pm  £3.50   ‘Come and sing your favourite carols’, followed by tea and cakes.  
Saturday 21 December 7.30pm Retiring collection Shepway Singers, St Leonard’s Church Choirs & Hythe Girls Choir 'Carols for All’  
* Booking fee applies. Friends' discount not available.
** Friends' discount not available.